UCEA Board

UCEA’s Board provides organisational oversight, corporate governance, strategic direction and leadership of collective pay negotiations.

The four corporate members of UCEA are Universities UK, GuildHE, the Committee of University Chairs, and Universities Scotland. Each nominates members to the Board. They ensure that our Board is representative of the higher education institutions in our membership. UCEA is a company limited by guarantee (registered number 2914327), and all Board members are Directors of the company.

Our Board comprises Vice-Chancellors, Principals and Chairs of Council from our member organisations. 



Professor Mark E Smith, Chair of the Board
President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Southampton

Professor Graham Baldwin, Deputy Chair of the Board
Vice-Chancellor, University of Central Lancashire 

Jerry Cope, Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee and Deputy Chair of the Board
Chair of Council, London South Bank University

Kate Allum is Chair of the Court, University of the West of Scotland
Professor Stuart Corbridge is Vice-Chancellor and Warden, Durham University 
Professor Jenny Higham is Principal, St George’s, University of London
Jane Hoskins is Chair of the Board of Governors, University of Portsmouth
Professor Gerry McCormac is Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Stirling
Professor Andrea Nolan is Principal & Vice-Chancellor, Edinburgh Napier University
Julia Palca is Chair of Council, City, University of London
Professor Stuart Palmer is Chair of Council, Cardiff University
Professor Edward Peck is Vice-Chancellor, Nottingham Trent University
Professor Joanna Price is Vice-Chancellor, Royal Agricultural University 
Professor Nigel Seaton is Principal and Vice-Chancellor, Abertay University 
Professor Mike Spyer is Chair of the Council, Brunel University London
Professor Adam Tickell is Vice-Chancellor, University of Sussex
Professor Elizabeth Treasure is Vice-Chancellor, Aberystwyth University

The Company Secretary is Roshan Israni, Deputy Chief Executive.

UCEA’s work is carried out by a team led by Raj Jethwa, Chief Executive. Find out more about UCEA’s staff.